Friday, January 31, 2020

Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards 2020: The Nominees

Toss a pebble to* your author
O, readers of plenty,
O, readers of plenty.

Creators of worlds
with magical words
they astound and thrill
It's time to pay the bill

Subjective kind of chaos
The time is here

Toss a pebble to your author
O, readers of plenty,
O, readers of plenty.

The lines don't scan all that well and trying to make them rhyme was a chore, but at least it has a semblance of a meme-worthy vibe to it. Although the chorus is the best bit, even if I have to say so myself. (*Important note: Do not toss pebbles AT authors. The pebbles should be given TO authors.)

With that incoherent introduction and magical musical interlude out of the way it's time to announce the nominees for The 2020 Subjective Chaos Kind of Awards (SCKA). With the powers of eight book bloggers combined and using various other esoteric means the nominees for this year's awards have been narrowed down to the following works:

*Drum roll*


  • The Ten thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow
  • The True Queen by Zen Cho
  • Realm of Ash by Tasha Suri
  • Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron
  • Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • The Bone Ships by RJ Barker
  • The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi


  • Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O'Keefe
  • Ancestral Night by Elizabeth Bear
  • A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
  • Wanderers by Chuck Wendig
  • The Outside by Ada Hoffman
  • Steel Frame by Andrew Skinner
  • All City by Alex DiFrancesco
  • Fleet of Knives by Gareth L. Powell


  • The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen
  • Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir
  • The Migration by Helen Marshall
  • The Institute by Stephen King
  • David Mogo, Godhunter by Suyi Davies Okungbowa
  • The Last Supper Before Ragnarok by Cassandra Khaw
  • The Kingdom by Jess Rothenberg
  • The Strawberry Thief by Joanne Harris


  • Silver in the Wood by Emily Tesh
  • This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone
  • The Deep by Rivers Solomon
  • Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Incompleteness Theories by Wole Talabi
  • To Be Taught, If Fortunate by Becky Chambers
  • We Are Made of Diamond Stuff by Isabel Waidner


  • The Winternight Trilogy by Katherine Arden
  • Elemental Logic by Laurie J. Marks
  • Empires of Dust by Anna Smith Spark
  • Children of Time Duology by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • The Rosewater Trilogy AKA Wormwood Trilogy by Tade Thompson
  • Swords and Fire by Melissa Caruso
  • Luna Series by Ian McDonald
  • The Winnowing Flame by Jen Williams


That's a lot of books. A whole lot! Over the coming months the judges will narrow things down to a shortlist and then ultimately crown a winner in each category. Each winner will be awarded an exclusive, hand-picked pebble from an exotic locale.

A huge congratulations to all the nominees! I'm excited to dive right in and discover new authors, some wonderful stories and brand new worlds.

Let the reading commence...

No comments:

Post a Comment